Power Supply

Boscobel Utilities is a member of WPPI Energy, a Sun Prairie-based power company serving 51 customer-owned electric utilities. Together, WPPI Energy’s member utilities purchase all of their electric requirements from WPPI Energy and supply power to more than 192,000 customers in Wisconsin, Iowa and Michigan.

The Founding of WPPI Energy

In the late 1970s, a group of Wisconsin communities served by local municipal electric utilities was facing a series of large, wholesale rate increases. These increases were imposed by investor-owned companies that supplied the local municipalities with electric power. Determined to gain control over their power costs, the communities joined forces in 1980 to form WPPI Energy; the state's first municipal electric company.

Strength in Numbers

WPPI Energy was formed to give member utilities like Boscobel Utilities, the benefits of power supply independence, increased bargaining power and economies of scale. Through this “joint action” effort, WPPI Energy helps its members in the acquisition of electric power and related resources needed to provide their customers with safe, reliable and economic electric power and energy. Through WPPI Energy, municipal utilities are able to acquire power supply expertise and negotiating strength they would lack individually.

A board of directors, comprised of one representative from each member-owner community, governs WPPI Energy. An 11-member executive committee of the board provides ongoing management oversight of WPPI Energy. WPPI Energy employs more than 85 employees who manage and operate WPPI Energy in accordance with the policies and decisions of the board of directors and executive committee.

Power Report

See the most recent Power Reports for highlights of important industry issues and examples of how public power benefits our member communities.


WPPI Energy Member Utilities:


  • Algoma Utilities
  • Black River Falls Municipal Utilities
  • Boscobel Utilities
  • Brodhead Water & Lights
  • Cedarburg Light & Water Utility
  • Columbus Water & Light
  • Cuba City Light & Water
  • Eagle River Light & Water Utility
  • Evansville Water & Light
  • Florence Utilities
  • Hartford Electric
  • Hustisford Utiities
  • Jefferson Utilities
  • Juneau Utilities
  • Kaukauna Utilities
  • Lake Mills Light & Water
  • Lodi Utilities
  • Menasha Utilities
  • Mount Horeb Utilities
  • Muscoda Utilities
  • New Glarus Utilities
  • New Holstein Utilities
  • New London Utilities
  • New Richmond Utilities
  • Oconomowoc Utilities
  • Oconto Falls Municipal Utilities
  • Plymouth Utilities
  • Prairie du Sac Utilities
  • Reedsburg Utility Commission
  • City Utilities of Richland Center
  • River Falls Municipal Utilities
  • Slinger Utilities
  • Stoughton Utilities
  • Sturgeon Bay Utilities
  • Sun Prairie Utilities
  • Two Rivers Water & Light
  • Waterloo Utilities
  • Waunakee Utilities
  • Waupun Utilities
  • Westby Utilities
  • Whitehall Electric Utility


  • Alger Delta Cooperative Electric Association
  • Baraga Electric Utility
  • Crystal Falls Electric Department
  • Gladstone Power & Light
  • L'Anse Electric Utility
  • Negaunee Electric Department
  • Norway Department of Power & Light


  • Independence Light & Power, Telecommunications
  • Maquoketa Municipal Electric Utility
  • Preston Municipal Electric Utility